Cheese and onion drop scones

Friday morning breakfast, part of my ‘adventures in a meat-free cottage’ weekend…

20130823-141806.jpg

Ingredients (serves two):

100g self raising flour
100ml milk
Half an onion
1 egg
30g hard cheese
2 sprigs of parsley
4 tbsp oil

First, chop the onion very finely, and grate the cheese. I brought my small hand grater with me, which grates very finely – making a small amount of cheese go much further! Snip up the parsley, and add all to a mixing bowl.

Weigh in the flour and and stir through to evenly distribute the dry ingredients.

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and break in the egg. Pour over the milk, and mix into the flour etc briskly with a fork to form a smooth batter.

Heat the oil in a frying pan (or in my case, a wok, as there wasn’t a frying pan here!), and drop in a tablespoon of batter. Fry on a medium heat for half a minute on each side, and remove from the pan to a plate.

Repeat until all of the batter is used.

Delicious eaten on their own, but I served mine with an egg and a cup of coffee – well, it was nearly lunchtime!

Jack Monroe. Follow me on Twitter @MsJackMonroe. Find me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/agirlcalledjack

A Girl Called Jack is available to order here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Girl-Called-Jack-Monroe/dp/0718178947

19 Comments »

  1. That looks delicious and I have been given some onions from my daughter’s garden and I have some black pudding and bacon left over from my son’s recent visit so that’s supper sorted!

    • jack so pleased you are stopping to breathe. did you hear about the radio 4 programme about “slow coach” sadly first on already fallen off iplayer. but useful lessons fr us all eps when under so much pressure
      p x

  2. I love making drop scones! Though it’s usually the kind with raisins here, the savoury ones are great too – as well as being super quick!

  3. Look delicious! As a very novice cook, could you let me know how many the recipe makes and what size my batter dollop (!) should be? Love the site – it’s been a huge help these last few weeks xx
    (P.S. Egg is missing from your ingredients list)

  4. These look really good, I might try and make them sometime. Congratulations on completing your book. I imagine you can relax a bit more now with no big deadline to meet.

  5. Apologies for commenting twice but I’ve just made these and, oh, my word, they are delicious. I used value not-parmesan and also added a good pinch of mustard powder because it goes so well with cheese and I fried them in bacon fat. The mixture made ten so that’s five portions. Very frugal! And did I mention – very, very delicious! Thanks, Jack, another on on my list of regulars.
    J x

  6. Tried these with a poached egg and green salad for tea. Recipe made 9 scones in total. Result: Two very full teenage girls and a satisfied Mum with 1 left over for me later. Looking forward to the book!

  7. Love this recipe, for an even cheaper version try using a couple of mushrooms chopped and fried then finely chopped and a bit of rosemary or thyme in place of the cheese! I also like to make them with a little left over ham from making pea soup and some defrosted garden peas!

  8. Loving these this morning.
    Dropped the onion and cheese, got banana and blueberries instead. Lovely breakfast and the baba’s wolfing it down.

Leave a Reply