Recipes for Kim: Cheese and onion pasta

This cheese and onion pasta recipe is part of a personal project, Recipes For Kim, where a reader has sent me a list of the ingredients in her kitchen cupboard and I promised to write some recipes around them. These aren’t costed, as this isn’t my kitchen cupboard, but I will add them to the Below The Line recipe section over the next few days…

Recipes for Kim: Cheese and onion pasta

Ingredients (serves two):

2 large white onions
2 tbsp oil
4 tbsp passatta
Grated cheese
150g pasta (orzo, in this case)

Peel and chop the onions, and place them in a sauté or frying pan on a very low heat to soften. Add a shake of oregano.

Meanwhile, put the pasta water on to boil. Add the pasta, and reduce to a medium simmer to cook.

When the onions are translucent and sweet, stir in the passatta, and toss through the pasta. Top with a handful of grated cheese, and serve.

Also works well as a simple risotto!

Jack Monroe. Follow me on Twitter @MsJackMonroe. Find me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/agirlcalledjack

A Girl Called Jack is available to order here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Girl-Called-Jack-Monroe/dp/0718178947

Categories: Recipes & Food

Tagged as:

1 Comment »

  1. My kids love this, I’ve made this for them before as I used to live in Spain and the Spanish kids love it!!

Leave a Reply