5 minute bread, 4p [VG/V/DF]

On Thursday morning, off school and recovering from surgery, my Small Boy announced he wanted ‘dippy bread’ for breakfast. Bread with something to dip it into, I surmised. Seems fair enough; who doesn’t enjoy dunking warm bread into something soft and viscous, and ramming it in their gob? I made a yoghurt dip and whipped the last nights leftover roasted squash with a little coconut milk, and realised we didn’t have any bread. Drat. He’s struggling to walk, so I was reluctant to drag him up the steep hill to the nearest shop, and at seven he’s just slightly too small to be left alone while I bravely hunt down our breakfast, so I decided to make some bread. Instant bread, because as the parent of any hungry child knows, there are nanoseconds between being ‘a bit hungry’ and ‘full scale tantrum hungry’. I set a five minute timer, just to see, but I’m an avid baker, so give yourself eight to start with and see how quickly you can break your own record.

Made 4 breads at 3p each

100g self raising flour, 4p (65p/1.5kg, Sainsburys Basics)

70ml soya milk (or any other milk equivalent), 6p (Sainsburys soya milk, 90p/1l)

1/3 tsp bicarbonate of soda, <1p (90p/180g, Sainsburys)

A pinch of salt, <1p (40p/750g, Sainsburys)

1/2 tsp lemon juice or vinegar, 1p (55p/250ml, Sainsburys)

First turn your oven on to 220C, you’ll need this in a minute! Pop a frying pan on the hob but don’t turn it on yet.

Grab a mixing bowl and pour your flour into it. Add the bicarb and salt and give it a quick but thorough stir. 

Pour in the milk and lemon juice and mix vigorously for a minute to form a dough. Now turn the heat beneath your frying pan on.

Tip the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and briefly knead it to bring it together, just for a minute. Divide it into four and roll them into balls.

Roll each ball out flat – around 4mm thick – and pop into the frying pan two at a time. Cook on a high heat for one minute, then flip over for 30 seconds, transfer them to the oven to keep warm and finish, and do the other two.

And you’re done. And now you can go into your day knowing that you’re only ever five minutes away from freshly baked bread. 

Now If you’ll excuse me, I’m a tad competitive, so I’m just setting myself a four minute timer over here… 

Jack Monroe. Twitter: @BootstrapCook   Insta: @MxJackMonroe

  My new book, Cooking on a Bootstrap, is now available to order HERE.

 This blog is free to those who need it, and always will be, but it does of course incur costs to run and keep it running. If you use it and benefit, enjoy it, and would like to keep it going, please consider popping something in the tip jar, and thankyou.

31 Comments »

  1. Just discovered my brother (who I send these on to often) has been diagnosed with celiac. Any good non gluten recipes for a quick bread would be vastly appreciated. I’ve been teased about my “imagined” gluten intolerance by this guy for years, but really want to support him with things that feel and taste like bread as he adjusts!

    • Go to the search bar in here and type in ‘gramcake’ as it is made with gram (chickpea) flour and is gluten free. Not quite a flatbread but still a quick frying pan job. Give me a few days to tag my gluten free recipes as I have been meaning to do it for ages and then he can find them easily x

      • I use a mixture of buckwheat and mashed potato. I add a knob of butter and some grated cheese for a bit of extra luxury.

  2. That looks fabulous. And as someone recently recovering from knee surgery best wishes to small boy on his recovery

  3. We don’t have a non-stick pan at the moment; would these work in an ordinary stainless steel pan? Would one need to use some oil? Or could they work in a hot oven?
    Thank you in advance for tagging gluten-free recipes. I support someone who can use these.
    I work as a mental health support worker snd often recommend your website to colleagues and service users.

  4. Wow Jack.. That’s quick. I think I’ll give that a try and see if it will work with my gluten free flour. I love a challenge.
    Love your blog and love your recipes more.
    Thank you for all the inspiration you have given me over the years that I have been following you .
    My love to you and small boy. I hope he heals quickly aftry his operation .
    Loraine

  5. Sounds like soda farls/bread. My dad, 84 has a vivid memory of bread hot of the girdle in Northern Ireland as a child. Some were made up into loaves and some were flat and so almost immediate. Also then you can mix just mashed potato with flour and dry fry the same way. Apparently they are best left then re-fried for breakfast. Would be fantastic with fried/stewed mushrooms or tomatoes on top.

    • Very similar to soda bread (N. Ireland) or soda scones in (Scotland). They were popular where there was no public oven available as they were made on the griddle or girdel as my mum called it. Keep up the good work.

  6. Fantastic. I always leave it to the last minute to think about bread, so this is going to be yet another of your recipes that becomes a regular in my household! (lost count of the number of times your blog/books have helped me turn a fridge full of decrepit veg into a feast)

  7. Now that is a little bit genius – thank you Jack! I think even I could manage that one! Especially w/out yeast- nice one. I was making your soda bread for a while as our youngest ( who very much knows what he likes, if you know what I mean😗)LOVED it, then it started to taste too soda-ey, somehow I’d lost the knack(!) & so I shall try again with this one😻

  8. Hi
    Is it possible to buy your new book.I am a 69 year old GAP(grandparent as parent)to my 8 year old grandson.We only qualify for child benefit,so i really apreciate your blog recipes.
    regards Mo
    ________________________________

  9. I made these just now in a “just made dal – have no flatbread” emergency. I added a teeny bit more salt (Maldon) and a splash of olive oil because it helps it brown. Took less than 5 mins (I do make a lot of bread though) and I didn’t need to use the oven – I kept them thicker so had two large breads which easily fit in one frying pan. These would be really good with some herbs/seeds rolled into them. Thanks Jack!

  10. Wow! Didn’t realize it is that easy to make bread, I always thought it seemed like a bit of a faff. I will have to try this.

  11. I made these with crushed cardamom seeds and your mushroom Rogan josh (vg) – delicious and so easy. I made 2 thinner larger ones and didn’t finish in the oven as I like my bread a bit squishy in the middle. Next time I think I’ll soak my crushed cardamom in my almond milk first …….drool…..

  12. I made this last night, to go with supper. I have never made flatbread before but it really is as easy as you say it is.
    Delicious! Used to mop up the remains ofothe ragu from Ultimate Lasagne (the rest had gone in a pie).
    Lovely dinner from some leftoversl
    Thanks for sharing your recipes.

  13. I just made these with regular milk, and they turned out great!

    In the name of science I dipped one into hoummus, ate one with butter, one with butter and dried herbs, and one with butter, garlic paste and chili flakes. The last one was hands down the best option – kind of like a naan bread. I’ll be making these again, thanks for another great recipe!

Leave a Reply