MY FEMALE FOOD HEROES IN TANZANIA

Last month I spent 10 days in Tanzania with Oxfam, meeting women and farmers who had been involved in Oxfam projects including Raising Her Voice and Female Food Heroes.

Click here to watch the video.

My trip to Tanzania is something that I think about every day. I miss Anna and Sister Martha terribly, and I hope to return very soon.

With thanks to Oxfam Tanzania, Oxfam Ireland, Oxfam GB, Fred Nyatori (director), Mora McLagan (photography), and Caterina Monsanzi and Michael Tait at the Guardian.

Jack Monroe. Twitter: @MsJackMonroe

8 Comments »

  1. Very moving,women everywhere , so brave trying
    to do so much I see it all the time here in Mexico and
    thank you Jack for bringing this videos to us. It has made me reflect a great deal on what is important in this life.

  2. Great video, Jack! It made me wanna go back to Tanzania, where I used to live for a while…now back in Germany, I often wonder about the fact that the richest countries in the world offer the worst food in their supermarkets – all full of artifitial flavours etc. So when I really want good, healthy, home-cooked food in Germany, which is good value, nothing fancy, but still superyummy, I go to my friends place: she is Tanzanian! 🙂

  3. Hi Jack,

    I haven’t checked out your blog for a while and so much has changed in the meantime. Your life seems to have turned a corner 🙂

    This video was really inspiring and you are really inspiring. You are a change maker too and help change peoples perceptions of poverty. I am looking forward to you being our next prime minister, you have my vote 🙂

    Judy

  4. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it wwas extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    uup what I hhad written annd say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m sgill new
    to thhe whole thing. Do yoou have any points for novice blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply