£1,118 raised so far for Oxfam – Thankyou!

As I embark on day three of this years Live Below The Line challenge, in order to motivate myself to eat yet more lemon curd on toast, and boil some rice for my lunch at work, I thought I’d check out the donations page i’d set up.

I was absolutely staggered to discover that over £1,000 has been donated to Oxfam through my eating bread and rice this week!

20130501-070156.jpg

20130501-070216.jpg

I’ve doubled my original target, and who knows now where it will end up?

Thankyou to everyone who has donated – it makes this all worthwhile.

To donate to Live Below The Line, a global poverty project, click here: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/agirlcalledjack

If you are taking part in this years Live Below The Line challenge and want to share your experience, get in touch at jackmonroe@live.co.uk

Jack Monroe. Twitter: @MsJackMonroe

5 Comments »

  1. Jack you are amazing. I looked – just out of interest – at the ‘Leaderboards’. You are currently 30th out of nearly 5000 individuals in terms of the amount raised. You are also higher than 150 out of the 157 University Teams taking part. I know it isn’t a competition, but this is a reflection of how much you are achieving. It really is a wonderful effort.

  2. Jack,You seem to be a great person. What you have achieved so far is just stunning.Well done and wish you all the very best. I too am on a microscopic budget and have an idea on your situation.Regards,JP

    Date: Wed, 1 May 2013 05:57:34 +0000 To: joao_cota@hotmail.com

  3. It’s great to see you and your supporters making a difference. It doesn’t seem like enough I know when the politicians and corporations and religious organisations seem so powerfully against any kind of social change outside their own agendas but there is a Margaret Mead quote ‘Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.’

    She died in 1979 ( the year Thatcher was elected! A day it snowed this week in May I recall ) and also said ‘Life in the twentieth century is like a parachute jump-you have to get it right the first time.’

    I haven’t been able to get Paypal to work to donate but if you let me know an address I will mail a donation. Or if you don’t mind it not being attributed to your campaign I could donate on Oxfam’s international website which seems to work well: I’ve used it before to send goats and sheep to Africa as birthday presents!

Leave a Reply