29 Comments »

  1. Loved seeing you on TV and so glad that things
    are looking up for you, all due to your indomitable
    spirit.

  2. glad you posted this as I missed it – you looked terribly nervous but came over well – good luck with the challenge

  3. Well done Jack! Didn’t get to see the piece on Saturday, was delighted to catch up. Really nice to see the person behind the blog. You did really well! Love your recipes!

    Kathy – Dublin

  4. You were great and came across so well. I was so glad you posted it as I missed it too. It was also useful as I’m doing the Below the Line challenge and the kidney bean and carrot burger (minus cumin) might come in very handy with what I’ve bought to eat. Keep up the good work.

  5. I thought you did brilliantly. I had a little tear in my eye towards the end. SB has an amazing mum! Will be doing your burgers tomorrow. I have no cumin though, was thinking about grinding summer pepper corns into it to give it a kick. Thanks for sharing your ideas with us.

  6. I saw you on Breakfast TV on Saturday, and was stunned – I know you’re doing this primarily out of necessity, but you are the most impressive person I’ve seen on TV for a long while: committed, very articulate, and focussed. You’re an inspiration, not just to other single mums, but to people everywhere who are doing their best to get by. Well done.

  7. Jack, I have just discovered your site – and your story – and It’s so good to see how things have turned around for you. Totally well deserved, it looks like you have a bright future ahead of you. Congratulations are in order!

  8. I missed it too so thanks for posting – you did so well and I reckon we will be seeing more of you in future, hope so!!

  9. You are a wonderful woman and a great example for people over the world!
    Thank you for those recipes, which I intent to try.

    I read all the articles about you and one mentions that you have two cats: how do you feed them?
    And what about any vet bill?

  10. I love your attitude, you are a super mum to your little boy and a role model to modern society where many people are lazy and just feed their kids processed junk. Well done on your book deal – I love it when fantastic things happen to fantastic people 😉

  11. Cannot wait for your book! These are not only economical recipes, but easy to follow for those not experienced in the kitchen. You deserve great success for your creativity on a budget. Well done!

  12. Hi Jack! I have just discovered your blog via Mumsnet. Have been amazed to read of your story and heartbroken by your hardships. Also loving some of your vegan recipes too 🙂 Looking forward to seeing how things turn out for you with the book deal etc – congratulations! Brilliant news, and you deserve a positive change in your luck.

  13. how inspirational! I tried your springy piggy dish last night, using a 2 chicken breasts and leftovers in the fridge. Mine worked out at 83p per portion (this included rice & cauliflower on the side). It was delish, thank you! Can’t wait for your book

Leave a Reply