Breakfast Sunshine Buns, 6p each

Breakfast Sunshine Buns – Pineapple, Carrot and Sultana) – 49p for 8 at 6p each.

20130324-205142.jpg

Ingredients:*

250g flour, 11p (65p/1.5kg)
1 sachet fast action dried yeast, 11p
30g sultanas, 6p (99p/500g)
1 carrot, 5p (part of a 1.25kg vegetable pack, £1)
1/2 can pineapple chunks, 16p (32p/227g)

How To:

1. Weigh the flour into a large mixing bowl and add the yeast. Finely grate the carrot in, and add the sultanas. Mix in together and make a well in the centre of the dry mixture.

2. Strain the pineapple pieces over a bowl, reserving the juice to use in a minute. Put half of the pineapple pieces into the centre of the dry mixture, and put the other half into an airtight container and pop into the fridge to snack on, or to use in another recipe!

3. Add boiling water to the pineapple juice to make up to 160ml.

4. Pour into the well in the centre of the dry mixture, and combine to make a soft, sticky dough.

5. Tip out onto a lightly floured work surface and knead lightly – as you knead it, the pineapple pieces may break down and make the dough wetter. If this happens, sprinkle some extra flour over the dough and knead it in.

6. When kneaded, break the dough in half. Break each half in half, then each piece in half so that you have 8 pieces. Lightly knock each of your 8 pieces into a ball shape.

7. Lightly grease 8 cups of a 12 cup muffin tray. Pop a ball of dough into each.

8. Leave to rise for an hour, uncovered, in a warm place.

9. Pop into the oven at 180C for half an hour, until they are risen, crusty on top and light to touch. It should feel light when you lift one from the oven, and sound hollow when you tap the bottom. It is quite a moist bread, so can be left to cook a little longer if you prefer.

Allow to cool slightly, cut in half, butter, and eat.

I’m going to allow the other seven to cool, and I’ll pop them in the freezer….

Jack Monroe. Twitter: @MsJackMonroe

*(Prices calculated at Sainsburys, using the Basics range where available. Costs checked on date of publication against ASDA SmartPrice, Tesco Value, Morrisons Value and Waitrose Essentials. Some variation between major supermarkets but most items widely available at similar price.)

25 Comments »

  1. Lovely! I’m going to try making these with wholemeal flour instead of white. How big is your tin of pineapple chunks? I have a tin from the ASDA Smartprice range and it’s quite a large tin – 565g (undrained).

    • S’okey I looked it up on My Supermarket. The Sainsbury’s tin is teeny compared to the ASDA one at 227g

  2. These are just rising on the side in my kitchen and looking good. I didn’t have any pineapple chunks so I used dried apricots soaked in orange juice and then used the juice to make up the liquid needed along the water. I also added a little cinnamon. The mixture was quite wet but I used plenty of flour when kneading and it soon balanced out. If these work out then I might try and savoury version. Hope the new job is going well. I love your blog.

  3. I remember my mother bulk buying wholemeal flour (not trendy back in the eighties!) and cheap sultanas and making scones by the dozen. We would visit a shop on our high street called Whole foods that sold dried goods in giant bins and for very little money. I don’t think these shops are in existence any more which is a real pity. She made the housekeeping money stretch really far in that shop. The scones filled us up before we went to bed. Tasted really good with her homemade bramble jelly on top. Could you do us a recipe for wholemeal fruit scones?

  4. Hi Jack,

    I made these buns at the weekend – utterly utterly gorgeous. Can’t wait to make the next batch with the pineapples left in the fridge.
    I ran to work this morning and it sped me up a bit thinking of the lovely breakfast that was waiting on me. Had one with Smartprice peanut butter, the other Smartprice marmalade.
    Wouldn’t change a thing about this recipe. Everyone should try it!!

  5. Hi Jack,

    I have tinned apricots left over from the Jardaloo Ma Murghi I made last night, could I substitute the pineapple for these do you think?

    Thanks! Loving the recipes!

      • So these were amazing! ( I just scoffed two with liberal amounts of butter – the shame!) I’ve so far managed to get three meals out of the tin of apricots, The curry, these buns and I threw a few into the sexed up cous cous which I had with the Kidney bean, carrot and cumin burgers and I still have a few left over!

        Thanks for the recipes and good luck with the book!

  6. Have some rising at this moment! Just made do with pineapple as no dried fruit in at the moment…..but I can cope with that!

  7. Just made these and they are really lovely warm from the oven with butter. Tried a few of the recipes and my not so small boy loves them all (jam sponges) in particular. Nice to see recipes that i can afford to cook for my family during these difficult times thanks. Good luck with the book will definitely be buying.

  8. We love these here, wee man has them as snacks. Got some rhubarb from aldi on their super six thing, so have a rhubarb, apple and cinnamon version in the oven at the min. Have fingers crossed they go down as well as your sunshine ones 🙂

  9. Hi Jack firstly I would like to say today is the first time I have come across your recipes and wow they’re really great! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. Secondly, my house isn’t very warm heated mainly be a log burner (my house is small) and in a rural area so when it says leave in a warm place how warm does it have to be and hoe much of an effect does this have on the finished product?

    Thank you very much in advance

Leave a Reply